Fiction and nonfiction works honored in Cleveland

CLEVELAND (AP) — Fiction works “Kind One” by Laird Hunt and “The Yellow Birds” by Kevin Powers have been honored in Cleveland for contributions to understanding of racism and cultural diversity.

The Anisfield-Wolf book award winners were announced Monday by the Cleveland Foundation, which administers the program. Harvard professor Henry Louis Gates Jr. chaired the jury which picked winners.

Awards also were announced for Eugene Gloria’s “My Favorite Warlord” poetry and Andrew Solomon for the nonfiction “Far From the Tree.”

Nigerian playwright Wole Soyinka, a Nobel laureate and past Anisfield-Wolf winner, was honored with a lifetime achievement award.

The winners will be honored Sept. 12 in Cleveland.

WKBN 27 First News provides commenting to allow for constructive discussion on the stories we cover. In order to comment here, you acknowledge you have read and agreed to our Terms of Service. Commenters who violate these terms, including use of vulgar language or racial slurs, will be banned. No links will be permitted. Please be respectful of the opinions of others. If you see an inappropriate comment, please flag it for our moderators to review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s