Future filmmakers feted at Student Academy Awards

The world’s future filmmakers got a preview of the kind of Hollywood glamour and glory that could be theirs someday as the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences presented its 40th annual Student Academy Awards.

Sixteen college students from around the globe were honored at the Saturday night ceremony, held at the academy’s Samuel Goldwyn Theater in Beverly Hills and hosted by onetime Student Academy Award winner Bob Saget. Presenters included writer-director Kimberly Peirce and actors Clark Gregg, Jason Schwartzman and Quvenzhane (kwuh-VEHN’-juh-nay) Wallis.

This year’s student honors included two each from the University of Southern California, Ringling College of Art and Design in Florida and the School of Visual Arts in New York.

Past Student Academy Award winners have gone on to receive eight Oscars and 46 Oscar nominations. Could Saturday night’s winners be far behind? Remember these names:


— Brian Schwarz, University of Texas at Austin, Narrative category for “Ol’ Daddy.”

— Lindsey St. Pierre and Ashley Graham, Ringling College of Art and Design, Florida, Animation category for “Dia de los Muertos.”

— David Aristizabal, University of Southern California, Documentary category for “A Second Chance.”

— Rafael Cortina, Occidental College, California, Alterative category for “Bottled Up.”

— Kristina Yee, National Film and Television School, United Kingdom, Foreign Film category for “Miss Todd.”


— Jonathan Langager, University of Southern California, Narrative category for “Josephine and the Roach.”

— Eusong Lee, California Institute of the Arts, Animation category for “Will.”

— Rachel Loube, School of Visual Arts, New York, Documentary category for “Every Tuesday: A Portrait of The New Yorker Cartoonists.”

— Perry Janes, University of Michigan, Alternative category for “Zug.”

— Talkhon Hamzavi, Zurich University of the Arts, Switzerland, Foreign Film category for “Parvaneh.”


— Mauro Mueller, Columbia University, New York, Narrative category for “Un Mundo para Raul (A World for Raúl).”

— Kevin Herron, Ringling College of Art and Design, Florida, Animation category for “Peck Pocketed.”

— Daniel Koehler, Elon University, North Carolina, Documentary category for “Win or Lose.”

— John Mattiuzzi, School of Visual Arts, New York, Alternative category for “The Compositor.”

— Wouter Bouvijn, RITS School of Arts, Erasmus University College, Belgium, Foreign Film category for “Tweesprong (Crossroads).”




WKBN 27 First News provides commenting to allow for constructive discussion on the stories we cover. In order to comment here, you acknowledge you have read and agreed to our Terms of Service. Commenters who violate these terms, including use of vulgar language or racial slurs, will be banned. No links will be permitted. Please be respectful of the opinions of others. If you see an inappropriate comment, please flag it for our moderators to review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s