Nobel recipient among winners of Jefferson Awards

WASHINGTON (AP) — Two U.S. Senators, the winner of a Nobel Prize for peace, a labor leader and the owner of a professional tennis team are among the people being honored with a national prize for public service.

Recipients of the 2013 Jefferson Awards accepted their honors Wednesday in Washington.

Republican Sen. Tom Coburn of Oklahoma and Democratic Sen. Patrick Leahy of Vermont won the award for greatest public service by an elected or appointed official. Holocaust survivor and Nobel Prize winner Elie Wiesel won the award for greatest public service by a private citizen. Among others being honored were Dolores Huerta, the co-founder of the National Farmworkers Association, and Mark Ein, the owner of the Washington Kastles.

The Jefferson Awards were co-founded 40 years ago by former first lady Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis.

WKBN 27 First News provides commenting to allow for constructive discussion on the stories we cover. In order to comment here, you acknowledge you have read and agreed to our Terms of Service. Commenters who violate these terms, including use of vulgar language or racial slurs, will be banned. No links will be permitted. Please be respectful of the opinions of others. If you see an inappropriate comment, please flag it for our moderators to review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s