Members of the Federal Reserve board in Washington

Elizabeth Duke announced Thursday that she will step down from the Federal Reserve’s board in Washington at the end of August.

She is one of seven board members. Each member is nominated by the president and confirmed by the Senate. A term on the board lasts 14 years, although members can leave before it ends. When that happens, the president chooses a replacement to fulfill the final years of the term.

Duke has been on the board since August 2008. Her term officially ended in January of 2012, but board members can remain until someone is chosen to replace them.

Here are the members of the board:

Federal Reserve Chairman Ben Bernanke

Fed Vice Chair Janet Yellen

Elizabeth A. Duke

Daniel K. Tarullo

Sarah Bloom Raskin

Jeremy C. Stein

Jerome H. Powell

WKBN 27 First News provides commenting to allow for constructive discussion on the stories we cover. In order to comment here, you acknowledge you have read and agreed to our Terms of Service. Commenters who violate these terms, including use of vulgar language or racial slurs, will be banned. No links will be permitted. Please be respectful of the opinions of others. If you see an inappropriate comment, please flag it for our moderators to review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s