Indiana U. to give top award to Jones, 2 others

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. (AP) — Indiana University is giving its highest alumni award to soul musician Booker T. Jones and former U.S. Secretary of Education Roderick Paige.

Wisconsin Supreme Court Chief Justice Shirley Schlanger Abrahamson also will receive IU’s Distinguished Alumni Service Award during a November ceremony.

Jones is a Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductee who earned a bachelor’s degree in music education in 1967. Booker T. and the MGs’ had a hit recording with “Green Onions.”

Paige was education secretary under former President George W. Bush. Abrahamson is the longest-serving justice ever on the Wisconsin Supreme Court.

The Distinguished Alumni Service Award recipients were chosen for service and achievement in their fields and significant contributions to society. The university announced the selections last week.

WKBN 27 First News provides commenting to allow for constructive discussion on the stories we cover. In order to comment here, you acknowledge you have read and agreed to our Terms of Service. Commenters who violate these terms, including use of vulgar language or racial slurs, will be banned. No links will be permitted. Please be respectful of the opinions of others. If you see an inappropriate comment, please flag it for our moderators to review.

blog comments powered by Disqus