Senate approves 2 new members of election panel

WASHINGTON (AP) — The Senate has confirmed President Barack Obama’s two nominees to serve on the Federal Election Commission.

By voice vote, the Senate approved Democrat Ann Ravel and Republican Lee Goodman on Monday. Goodman and Ravel will fill two vacancies at the FEC left by former Democratic commissioner Cynthia Bauerly and Republican Donald McGahn. Goodman works at a Washington law firm and Ravel chairs the California Fair Political Practices Commission.

Ellen Weintraub, the current chairwoman of the commission, congratulated their unanimous Senate confirmation on Monday.

FEC commissioners are nominated by the president and confirmed by the Senate. Goodman and Ravel are the first new FEC commissioners since Obama took office and they complete the six-member panel.

Goodman’s term as commissioner runs through April 30, 2015. Ravel’s term lasts through April 30, 2017.

WKBN 27 First News provides commenting to allow for constructive discussion on the stories we cover. In order to comment here, you acknowledge you have read and agreed to our Terms of Service. Commenters who violate these terms, including use of vulgar language or racial slurs, will be banned. No links will be permitted. Please be respectful of the opinions of others. If you see an inappropriate comment, please flag it for our moderators to review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s