Ursuline’s Beachum 1st Team All-Ohio

Ursuline sophomore Tanaya Beachum was honored with 1st Team All-Ohio status in Division III.  She averaged 16.8 points for the Irish this season.  Liberty senior Leah Leshnack was named to the 2nd team, after averaging 20.6 points a game.

COLUMBUS, Ohio (AP) – The 2013-14 Associated Press Division III All-Ohio girls basketball team, based on the recommendations of a media panel:


FIRST TEAM: Alexa Hart, Cols. Africentric, 6-foot-2, senior, 16.2 points per game; Terra Stapleton, Proctorville Fairland, 6-4, sr., 17.8; Courtney Putt, Sugarcreek Garaway, 5-8, sr., 17.4; Jess Janota, Gates Mills Gilmour, 6-3, sr., 15.7; Ashton Lovely, Jamestown Greeneview, 5-9, sr., 23.5; Tanaya Beacham, Youngs. Ursuline, 6-1, soph., 16.8; Rachel Myers, Findlay Liberty-Benton, 5-8, sr., 23.3.

Players of the year: Alexa Hart, Cols. Africentric; Terra Stapleton, Proctorville Fairland.

Coaches of the year: Jeff Compan, Andover Pymatuning Valley; Jared Crowe, New Lebanon Dixie; Tom Kontak, Oak Harbor.

SECOND TEAM: Christa Puthoff, Versallies, 6-2, jr., 10.0; Olivia Besancon, Smithville, 5-6, sr., 16.5; Darianne Seward, Africentric, 5-5, sr., 10.2; Leanna Adkins, Oak Hill, 5-7, sr., 19.6; Geena Gabriel, Andover Pymatuning Valley, 5-9, sr., 18.2; Leah Leshnack, Youngs. Liberty, 5-5, sr., 20.6; Cassidy Wyse, Archbold, 5-10, sr., 14.1; Trina Current, Casstown Miami East, 6-1, sr., 15.8.

THIRD TEAM: Katie Ellzy, Cadiz Harrison Central, 5-9, jr., 18.2; Amisha Herd, Zanesville W. Muskingum, 5-4, sr., 15.7; Shania Massie, Greenfield McClain, 5-7, jr., 17.4; Mikah Aldridge, Beachwood, 5-6, sr., 14.2; Kelsea Brown, Andover Pymatuning Valley, 5-8, jr., 17.5; Andrea Cecil, Oak Harbor, 6-0, soph., 19.6; Kaycee Rowe, Lafayette Allen East, 5-8, sr., 18.2; Abby Wolford, Cin. Christian, 5-7, sr., 20.7; Marissa Koob, Cin. Hills Christian Acad., 5-10, sr., 22.2; Mason Jamison, Richwood North Union, 5-10, sr., 19.5.

Special Mention:

Gabby Burris, Baltimore Liberty Union; Kendall Compton, Centerburg; Brooke Borich, Beverly Fort Frye; Laura Frazee, West Lafayette Ridgewood; Cori Medley, Belmont Union Local; Riley Schill, Elyria Cath.; Deja Winters, Richmond Hts.; Lexie Barrier, Ironton; Madison Davis, Nelsonville-York; Leah Richardson, Albany Alexander; Peighton Williams, Portsmouth; Shelbi Van Meter, Crooksville; Ashley Richardson, Doylestown Chippewa; Trinniti Hall, Orrville; Andie Heffelfinger, Loudonville; Mackenzie Gatchel, Hanoverton United; Kayci Krzynowek, Akron Manchester; Bree Bishop, Girard; Starla Sharp, Canfield South Range; Taylor Graboski, Upper Sandusky; Macey Sheerer, Bucyrus.

Honorable Mention:

Jessy Goergen, Marion Pleasant; Tory Minton, Utica; Sara Pribonic, Johnstown Northridge; Lauren Ruth, Cols. Ready; Emily Williams, Fredericktown;

Cortney Huffman, Magnolia Sandy Valley; Cori Morris, Zoarville Tuscarawas Valley; Megan Liedtke, Beverly Fort Frye; Kara Dunfee, Cadiz Harrison Central; Carlee Gillespie, St. Clairsville;

Jessica Vormelker, Orwell Grand Valley; Mariah Porter, Wickliffe; Alexa Knezevic, Kirtland; Megan Stech, Andover Pymatuning Valley; Aneisha Hardin, Beachwood; Monique Evans, Richmond Hts;

Brett Justice, South Point; Kelsey Riley, Proctorville Fairland; Aundrea Bradburn, South Point; Sierra Barker, Belpre; Jacy Jones, Coal Grove Dawson-Bryant; Taylor Conley, W. Ports. Portsmouth West; Lexie Doddridge, Lucasville Valley; Sydney Holden, Wheelersburg; Natasha Barr, West Union; Tara Karnes, Greenfield McClain; Lexi Humphreys, Wellston;

Casey Miracle, Rootstown; Natalie Indermuhle, Smithville; Carly Koncz, Doylestown Chippewa; Alex Klein, Akron Manchester; Brooke Barreca, Newton Falls; Alyssa Harkins, Mineral Ridge; Madison Kiser, Leavittsburg LaBrae; Jamie DiDomenico, Youngs. Mooney; Jaclyn Yankle, Youngs. Mooney; Morgan Czopur, Canfield South Range;

Torey Stang, Hamilton Badin; Maria Englert, Cin. Purcell Marian; Abbey O’Donnell, Arcanum; Adrianna Moore, Camden Preble Shawnee; Megan Hatfield, Georgetown;

Ciara Albright, Genoa; Kristen Miller, Ottawa-Glandorf; Kristen Curtis, Bloomdale Elmwood; Meghan Harrer, Bucyrus Wynford; Brigan Wymer, Delta; Haili Mossing, Metamora Evergreen; Niki Meyer, Liberty Center.

WKBN 27 First News provides commenting to allow for constructive discussion on the stories we cover. In order to comment here, you acknowledge you have read and agreed to our Terms of Service. Commenters who violate these terms, including use of vulgar language or racial slurs, will be banned. No links will be permitted. Please be respectful of the opinions of others. If you see an inappropriate comment, please flag it for our moderators to review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s