Lepore-Hagan captures 58th District House of Representatives seat


YOUNGSTOWN, Ohio (WKBN) — Michele Lepore-Hagan won the race for the 58th District House of Representatives seat with 47.5% of the vote in Tuesday’s primary election, while Janet Tarpley, Michael O’Hara, and Cynthia McWilson followed, in that order, with 26, 15 and 12 percent of the vote, respectively.

The four Youngstown Democrats were seeking to take the next step in their effort to get elected Tuesday, fighting for the Ohio House of Representatives spot being vacated by Bob Hagan.

Michele Lepore-Hagan, Bob Hagan’s wife, Cynthia McWilson, Janet Tarpley and Michael O’Hara all appeared on the ballot in Tuesday’s Democratic primary election. As the winner, Lepore-Hagan will appear on the ballot in November’s general election as the Democratic Party’s candidate.

Bob Hagan cannot run for re-election due to limits on the number of terms which state representatives can serve. The 58th District, as can be seen on this map, is in the northeast corner of Mahoning County and includes the city of Youngstown. Voters within that area will decide who advances from the primary.

Election results are unofficial


WKBN 27 First News provides commenting to allow for constructive discussion on the stories we cover. In order to comment here, you acknowledge you have read and agreed to our Terms of Service. Commenters who violate these terms, including use of vulgar language or racial slurs, will be banned. No links will be permitted. Please be respectful of the opinions of others. If you see an inappropriate comment, please flag it for our moderators to review.

blog comments powered by Disqus