OSU Extension Office honored


YOUNGSTOWN, Ohio (WKBN) — It was100 years ago when Congress created what is now known as the Cooperative Extension Service program across the country.

The program is an educational partnership between the U.S. Department of Agriculture and the nation’s land-grant universities. The local Cooperative Extension Service is provided by Ohio State University.

On Thursday, Mahoning County Commissioners presented a plaque to workers and volunteers with the Ohio State Extension Office in Canfield.

The Smith-Lever Act that established the program created a network of extension educators who bring university-based research and learning opportunities through the cooperative support of county governments paired with university and federal funding.

The program has evolved through the years and now focuses on four key areas: agriculture and natural resources, community development, youth development through the 4-H program, and family and consumer sciences.

blog comments powered by Disqus