Many districts have yet to switch to calamity hours

some Mahoning Valley Schools still on Calamity Day system

CANFIELD, Ohio (WKBN) – Monday was yet another snow day for some schools in the Valley, while others chose to delay class for a couple of hours.

WKBN looked into how districts are doing with making these decision on calamity hours, rather than days, finding out that many districts have yet to make the switch.

“We have two full days that we’ve had snow days. We’ve used two hour delays as well,” Canfield Schools Superintendent Alex Geordan said. “Since we are still on days, two hour delays are not affecting us at all.”

Canfield Locals Schools is not alone. Only a handful of districts in the Valley have switched over to calamity hours: Austintown, Sebring, Struthers and Youngstown.

“It’s a part of the collective bargaining agreement. We had signed our contract to remain with days prior to the law instituting in the summer,” Poland Schools Superintendent David Janofa said. “So, we still are on days. Anything after five, we have to make up.”

Poland Local Schools is at that mark after its cancellation Monday.

“We are at five district-wide, but we do have two buildings that, today was there sixth day,” Janofa said.

Both McKinley Elementary and the Middle School have an extra day because of a utility issue last year.

Canfield and Poland Schools will transition to hours for the 2017-2018 school year.

Superintendent Alex Georden said his district is considering a winter schedule, with school possibly starting at 9 a.m. instead of 7:30.

“And then, not have to worry about a two hour delay in the morning, and then we’d be getting out of school a little later,” Geordan said. “But our parents would know, here are our hours, let’s say from December through February.”

WKBN has compiled a list of which schools are on the hour system and which are on the day system:

According to the Trumbull County Educational Service Center:
*9 districts on hours include LaBrae, Liberty, Lordstown, McDonald, Newton Falls, TCTC, Warren and Weathersfield
*12 districts on days

According to the Mahoning County Educational Service Center:
*8 districts calculated by days: Beaver, Boardman, Canfield, Jackson-Milton, Lowellville, MCCTC, Poland, South Range,
*4 districts are calculated by hours: Austintown, Sebring, Struthers, Youngstown City
*5 districts have not responded: Campbell, Columbiana Exempted Village, Springfield, West Branch, Western Reserve

WKBN did not receive word from the Columbiana County Educational Service Center.

WKBN 27 First News provides commenting to allow for constructive discussion on the stories we cover. In order to comment here, you acknowledge you have read and agreed to our Terms of Service. Commenters who violate these terms, including use of vulgar language or racial slurs, will be banned. No links will be permitted. Please be respectful of the opinions of others. If you see an inappropriate comment, please flag it for our moderators to review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s