2015 D10 Class A Championship: Sharpsville/Farrell

2015 District 10 Class A Football Championship
Saturday, November 28 at 7 pm at Hickory High School
Farrell (11-1) vs. Sharpsville (12-0)

Last Meeting
Oct. 23, 2015: Sharpsville, 26-8
…Khaliq Ragster rumbled his way to nearly 200-yards on the ground on 27 carries as the Blue Devils continued their stretch towards an unbeaten season.

Past Playoff Meetings
Nov. 18, 2011: Sharpsville 36 Farrell 0 (District Semifinals)
Nov. 27, 2009: Farrell 34 Sharpsville 7 (District Finals)

Path to the Championship
Farrell Steelers (11-1)
District Quarterfinals: Farrell 44 Eisenhower 0
District Semifinals: Farrell 40 Cambridge Springs 21

Sharpsville Blue Devils (12-0)
District Quarterfinals: Sharpsville 49 Maplewood 14
District Semifinals: Sharpsville 46 West Middlesex 7

The rest of the field
D9 Championship: Brockway (10-2) vs Kane (11-0)
D10 Championship: Sharpsville (12-0) vs. Farrell (11-1)
D5 Championship: Berlin (11-0) vs. Northern Bedford (9-3)
D7 Championship: Clairton (12-0) vs. Jeannette (11-1)
D2/D4: Old Forge (11-1) vs. Wellsboro (10-2)
D1/D12/D11: Bishop McDevitt (6-6) vs. Marian Catholic (8-4)
D6 Championship: Bishop Guilfoyle (12-0) vs. Moshannon Valley (12-0)
D3 Championship: Camp Hill (10-1) vs. York Catholic (6-5)

Past District 10 Class A Champions
2014: Sharpsville
2013: Lakeview
2012: Sharpsville
2011: Sharpsville
2010: Farrell
2009: Farrell
2008: Farrell
2007: Mercyhurst Prep

District 10 Championships (all classifications)
Cathedral Prep, 19
Wilmington, 10
Sharon, 10
Sharpsville, 9
Hickory, 7

Mercer County dominance in Districts
…This year will mark the eighth year in a row that a Mercer County school has won the District 10 Class A Championship.

State Tournament Success
…In recent history, District 10 has gone onto win at least 1 game after the District playoffs in five of the last seven seasons.
2014: Sharpsville (def. Kane in the State Quarterfinals – 50-14 – before falling to Clairton)
2013: Lakeview (lost to Clarion in the State Quarterfinals)
2012: Sharpsville (lost to Port Allegany in State Quarterfinals)
2011: Sharpsville (def. Port Allegany in the State Quarterfinals before falling to Clairton)
2010: Farrell (def. Curwensville in the State Quarterfinals before falling to Clairton)
2009: Farrell (def. Clarion in the State Quarterfinals before falling to Clairton)
2008: Farrell (def. Cameron County in the State Quarterfinals before falling to Clairton)

Winner to play the winner of Brockway and Kane next weekend in the State Quarterfinals

WKBN 27 First News provides commenting to allow for constructive discussion on the stories we cover. In order to comment here, you acknowledge you have read and agreed to our Terms of Service. Commenters who violate these terms, including use of vulgar language or racial slurs, will be banned. No links will be permitted. Please be respectful of the opinions of others. If you see an inappropriate comment, please flag it for our moderators to review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s