2015-16 Girard Boys’ Basketball Preview

2015-16 Girard Indians’ Boys Basketball Preview
Head Coach: Craig Hannon, 4th season (55-17)
Record: 19-6 (10-2), 1st place in AAC Blue Division
5-Year Winning Percentage: 61.7%
5-Year League Record: 31-19

Season in Review
On March 13, Girard fell to Ursuline for the second straight year in the Division III Warren District Final to end their season. Over the past two years, the Indians have won 39 games overall (39-10), 18 in the league (18-4) and 4 post-season matchups en route to back-to-back district finalist finishes.

In the 2014-15 season, the team featured three players (DeOnte Brown and Chaston Williams) who scored in double figures led by Dylan O’Hara – who closed out the year with a 19.0 scoring average.

The Indians have posted 26 wins (26-6) in the All-American Conference over the last three seasons. In their first four years in the league (2008-12), Girard was only able to muster an 8-30 record in conference play.

All-American Conference Basketball Champions
Red Division
2014-15: Poland & Warren Harding (11-1)
2010-11: Howland (7-1)
2009-10: Canfield & Poland (7-1)
2008-09: Poland (7-1)

White Division
2014-15: Jefferson (10-0)
2010-11: Struthers (8-0)
2009-10: Struthers (8-0)
2008-09: Lakeview (7-1)

Blue Division
2014-15: Girard (10-2)
2010-11: LaBrae (8-0)
2009-10: Campbell (10-0)
2008-09: Campbell & Newton Falls (9-1)

AAC American Division
2013-14: Poland (11-1)
2012-13: Canfield & Poland (8-2)
2011-12: Struthers (9-1)

AAC National Division
2013-14: Campbell, Girard & LaBrae (8-2)
2012-13: LaBrae (10-0)
2011-12: LaBrae (10-0)

Key Losses
DeOnte Brown (10.0 ppg)
Christian Bello (7.0 ppg)
Tyler Kilbourne (5.0 ppg)
Dylan O’Hara (19.0 ppg)
Chaston Williams (14.0 ppg)

Key Returnees
The Indians lost a ton of talent in the form of their graduating senior class last Spring; however, there’s optimism in Girard this season. “This year’s team is talented but inexperienced,” says coach Craig Hannon. “I think this is a group that will continue to get better as the year progresses.” The Indians will have back in the fold Mark Standohar and Mike Guyer both who saw significant playing time. Standohar scored 5.5 points last year while Guyer added 3.3.

Hannon notes, “The conference is always balanced and well coached, so every night will be a challenge.”

Mike Guyer (6’4/Sr)
Collin Harden (6’0/Sr)
Mark Standohar (5’11/Sr)

AAC Blue Division Outlook
Brookfield The transition back to the All-American Conference didn’t hurt the Warriors last season. Brookfield finished with a 16-7 record (9-3) to post their sixth straight winning season.

Campbell The Red Devils went through a two-year stretch (2011-13) where they only won 10 games overall (10-34) and 4 in the league (4-16). Since then (2013-15), Campbell has been able to put together a 13-9 mark in the AAC and share of the National crown in 2013-14.

Champion The Golden Flashes have been unable to get on track over the last six years. During that stretch, they’ve lost 16 games or more each year and have won a total of 6 games in the AAC (6-54).

Girard Champions of the last two league titles, Girard has risen to a place where few thought they would be able to get to in such short time after the 2008-09 season (1-20). Over the last three years, the Indians have won 76.1% of their games (54-17) and have dominated the league to the tune of 26-6.

LaBrae After a four-year reign atop the league standings, LaBrae fell to a tie for third place (7-5) last year. The Vikings have not had a losing season in the AAC since the league was formed in 2008.

Liberty The Leopards have had just one winning season over the last four years (2013-14: 13-11). Liberty is hoping for a rebound this year after last season’s 5 win campaign (5-18).

Newton Falls Can you believe that Newton Falls, who’s averaged 17 wins in their last six seasons, has not won a league championship since 2008-09?

2015-16 Schedule
Dec. 1 – at Liberty, 7 pm
Dec. 4 – Brookfield, 7 pm
Dec. 8 – Champion, 7 pm
Dec. 11 – Newton Falls, 7:30 pm
Dec. 12 – vs. Central Tech, 3 pm
Dec. 15 – at Poland, 7 pm
Dec. 18 – at LaBrae, 7 pm
Dec. 22 – Niles, 7 pm
Dec. 29 – at Lakeview, 7 pm
Jan. 5 – at McDonald, 7:30 pm
Jan. 8 – Campbell, 7 pm
Jan. 9 – Howland, 7 pm
Jan. 12 – Hubbard, 7 pm
Jan. 15 – Liberty, 7 pm
Jan. 19 – at Brookfield, 7 pm
Jan. 22 – at Champion, 7 pm
Jan. 26 – at Newton Falls, 7 pm
Feb. 2 – LaBrae, 7 pm
Feb. 5 – at Campbell, 7 pm
Feb. 9 – Warren JFK, 7 pm
Feb. 12 – at Edgewood, 7 pm
Feb. 16 – Springfield, 7 pm

Post-Season History
State Championships: 1 (1993)
Regional Championships: 2 (1993, 1953)
…Girard has won just as many playoff games over the last two seasons (2014-15; 4) as they had won in the previous ten years (2004-13; 4)

WKBN 27 First News provides commenting to allow for constructive discussion on the stories we cover. In order to comment here, you acknowledge you have read and agreed to our Terms of Service. Commenters who violate these terms, including use of vulgar language or racial slurs, will be banned. No links will be permitted. Please be respectful of the opinions of others. If you see an inappropriate comment, please flag it for our moderators to review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s