Western Final: Farrell/Berlin (12/11)

2015 PIAA Class A State Football Western Final
Friday, December 11 at Penn Hills High School at 7 pm
Berlin Brothersvalley (13-0) vs. Farrell (13-1)

Path to the Western Final
Berlin Brothersvalley Mountaineers (13-0)
State Quarterfinals: Berlin 35 Clairton 22
District 5 Championship: Berlin 45 Northern Bedford 7
District 5 Semifinals: Berlin 49 Meyersdale 7

Farrell Steelers (13-1)
State Quarterfinals: Farrell 27 Kane 6
District 10 Championship: Farrell 26 Sharpsville 20 OT
District 10 Semifinals: Farrell 40 Cambridge Springs 21
District 10 Quarterfinals: Farrell 44 Eisenhower 0

State Championships by Districts
Any classifications
WPIAL (District 7) – 38
District 3 – 11
District 4 – 11
District 11 – 11
District 1 – 10
District 2 – 10
District 10 – 7
District 5 – 0

District 5 eventual champions of the PIAA Class A Tournament

Berlin takes down the powerhouse
…In the State Quarterfinal, the Mountaineers took down Clairton – the same team who had advanced to the state championship six times in the last seven years , the same team who beat Berlin last year (52-24)and the same team who had eliminated the Mountaineers 53-0 three years ago – by the score of 35-22. Braden Fochtman ran for over 100 yards and Brentson Harding threw for over 150 yards as their defense forced the Bears to 5 turnovers.

District 10 eventual champions of the PIAA Class A Tournament
1997: Sharpsville

Farrell’s opportunity to regain power
…With all of the success that the Steelers have had within the last decade, Farrell has not been back to the State title game since they completed back-to-back championships in 1995 and 1996. The Steelers are looking to make their fourth trip to the state championship contest in school history.

Farrell’s defensive efforts
…The Steelers have held all but two of their opponents this year to 21 points or less. This year, Farrell has forced 32 turnovers (13 interceptions/19 fumbles) while sacking opposing quarterbacks 39 times.

Farrell’s title game history
1996 (A): Farrell 14 Southern Columbia 12
1995 (A): Farrell 6 Southern Columbia 0
1990 (A): Marian Catholic 21 Farrell 13

Recent District 10 Champions in the Class A Western Final
2014: Clairton 54 Sharpsville 18
2011: Clairton 30 Sharpsville 8
2010: Clairton 48 Farrell 8
2009: Clairton 13 Farrell 7
2008: Clairton 24 Farrell 21
2006: West Middlesex 37 Clairton 30
2000: Rochester 27 Sharpsville 3
1997: Sharpsville 18 Riverview 0

Winner moves onto the Class A State Championship to play either Old Forge (13-1) or Bishop Guilfoyle (14-0)

WKBN 27 First News provides commenting to allow for constructive discussion on the stories we cover. In order to comment here, you acknowledge you have read and agreed to our Terms of Service. Commenters who violate these terms, including use of vulgar language or racial slurs, will be banned. No links will be permitted. Please be respectful of the opinions of others. If you see an inappropriate comment, please flag it for our moderators to review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s