Farrell falls to Bishop Guilfoyle in state finals

Farrell Steelers PIAA Class A state runner-up

HERSHEY, Pennsylvania (WKBN) – Farrell fell to Bishop Guilfoyle 35-0 in the PIAA Class A State Finals Friday afternoon at Hershey Park Stadium.

The Marauders capped off an undefeated 16-0 season, and have now won 32 straight games.  Farrell’s season ends with a record of 14-2.

Alex Myers completed 8-22 passes for 96 yards and four interceptions in the loss.  He also rushed for 40 yards in the game.

Marcus McCoy caught 5 passes for 76 yards for Farrell.  Malachi Newell tallied 40 rushing yards, while Braxton Chapman added 31 yards on the ground.

Bishop Guilfoyle struck first in the first quarter.  Marauders’ Quarterback Josh Trybus ripped off a 14-yard TD run, capping off a 10-play, 4:46 drive.  Bishop Guilfoyle takes a 7-0 lead.  Trybus racked up 74 rushing yards on the day.

The Marauders then recovered an onside kick on the ensuing kickoff, and drove down to the Steelers’ five-yard line.

Farrell then came up with a huge stop on fourth-and inches to force the turnover on downs, and trailed 7-0 at the end of the first quarter.

A Farrell drive stalls on a turnover on downs, giving the ball back to the Marauders.

On the next play, Bishop Guilfoyle’s Evan Chadbourn raced in for a 60-yard TD run to increase the lead to 14-0 with 9:31 left in the first half.

With just under 4:00 left the second quarter, Farrell turns it over when Evan Chadburn notched the interception at the Steelers’ 34-yard line.

Chadbourn added a 1-yard touchdown run with 1:00 remaining in the half, to give the Marauders a 21-0 advantage at halftime.  Chadbourn finished with 152 rushing yards and two touchdowns.

Farrell received the opening kickoff of the second half, but turned the ball over on downs on its first possession.

Bishop Guilfoyle’s Josh Trybus made a big play near the 7:00 mark of the third quarter, intercepting an Alex Myers pass, and returning it 38-yards for a touchdown, increasing the Marauder lead to 28-0.

The Steelers turned it over for the third time in the game when Myers was intercepted by Joshua Yasulitis on the ensuing drive.

Farrell forced its first turnover when Alex Myers came up with the interception at the end of the third quarter, with the Steelers still trailing 28-0.

The Steelers stopped on fourth down at the Bishop Guilfoyle 16-yard line with 9:40 remaining in the fourth quarter.

Later in the fourth quarter, the Marauders intercepted Alex Myers for the fourth time.  Two plays later, they added to their lead on a short touchdown plunge by Joshua Yasulitis with 2:05 left in the game.

Scoring Chart
Bishop Guilfoyle 35 Farrell 0
First Quarter
B – Josh Trybus, 14-yard TD run (B 7-0)
Second Quarter
B – Evan Chadbourn, 60-yard TD run (B 14-0)
B – Evan Chadbourn, 1-yard TD run (B 21-0)
Third Quarter
B – Josh Trybus, 38-yard INT return for TD (B 28-0)
Fourth Quarter
B – Aaron Yasulitis, 2-yard TD run (B 35-0)

Historic Notes
-The last District 10 Class A champion was in 1997 (Sharpsville defeated Riverside)
-Prior to this afternoon’s matchup, the last District 10 team to play for the Class A State Championship was in 2006 (West Middlesex lost to Southern Columbia)
-Bishop Guilfoyle became the first team since Clairton (2009-12) to win back-to-back Class A championships.
-Farrell’s 2015 team became the 4th District 10 team to compete in the Class A Championship (Sharpsville, West Middlesex and Cambridge Springs).

Class A Game Notes
-Farrell became the fourth team to be shut out in a championship game. Southern Columbia was shut out three times (1995, 1998, 2001`); Dunmore was shut out in 2012; Rochester was shut out in 2004.
-The 35-point difference in today’s game was tied for the fourth highest margin of victory. In 1994, Southern Columbia knocked off Western Beaver by 43 (49-6). In 2006, Southern Columbia defeated West Middlesex by 42 (56-14). In 1989, Dunmore beat Keystone by 39 points (57-18). In 2004, Southern Columbia shut out Rochester by 35 (35-0).
-Bishop Guilfoyle’s 4 interceptions ties a Class A state championship record.

Mercer County State Playoff Notes
Since post-season began in 1988
Most Appearances in State Championship
Farrell – 4 (2-2)
Wilmington – 2 (1-1)
Sharon – 2 (0-2)

Most Games in the State Playoffs
Wilmington – 23
Sharon – 19
Sharpsville – 16
Farrell – 15
Hickory – 11

Most Wins in the State Playoffs
Wilmington – 13
Sharon – 12
Farrell – 10
Sharpsville – 9

WKBN 27 First News provides commenting to allow for constructive discussion on the stories we cover. In order to comment here, you acknowledge you have read and agreed to our Terms of Service. Commenters who violate these terms, including use of vulgar language or racial slurs, will be banned. No links will be permitted. Please be respectful of the opinions of others. If you see an inappropriate comment, please flag it for our moderators to review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s