Hickory & Sharon headline All-State football honors

Andrew Pryts - Hickory High School - Hermitage, PA

PENNSYLVANIA (WKBN) – Running back Kaezon Pugh and Aliquippa couldn’t survive a nightmare performance this weekend in Hershey. Still, the University of Pittsburgh recruit would not settle for another runner-up trophy with Tuesday’s release of the 2015 Pennsylvania Football Writers’ Class AA All-State team.

Pugh, who finished just shy of 5,000 career rushing yards, was tagged as the Class AA Player of the Year after leading the WPIAL champions back to the Pennsylvania Interscholastic Athletic Association finals at Hersheypark Stadium.

Despite Pugh’s 109 rushing yards and first-quarter scoring run, the Quips committed seven turnovers and were outpointed 49-14 by Southern Columbia, which claimed a record seventh PIAA championship and first in Class AA.

The Tigers, headed by Coach of the Year Jim Roth, are well represented on the elite all-star roster. Quarterback Nick Becker, running back Hunter Thomas, lineman Josh Yoder, linebacker Matt Bell and defensive back Cameron Young all garnered top honors.

For the sixth year the all-state process has been overseen by the sports writers who cover high school football around the Commonwealth. Players are nominated in all four classifications, then a statewide ballot is issued to afford all writers the opportunity to cast their votes.

Pugh is one of nine repeat selections, fellow running backs Hunter Hayes of South Fayette and Montoursville’s Keith Batkowski among them.

Hayes rushed 136 times for 1,381 yards and 22 touchdowns in guiding the Lions to the WPIAL title game. The Quips would eventually stop South Fayette’s 44-game winning streak at Pittsburgh’s Heinz Field. Batkowski set multiple single-season records at Montoursville with 1,917 rushing yards and 23 touchdowns.





Tre Jordan, Notre Dame-Green Pond — 6-1, 190 senior

Noah Benton, Martinsburg Central — 6-4, 169 senior

Nick Becker, Southern Columbia — 6-3, 190 senior

Andrew Tomko, Sharon — 6-4, 210 senior

Running Back

Hunter Hayes, South Fayette — 6-1, 195 senior

Kaezon Pugh, Aliquippa — 6-3, 217 senior

Garrett Murray, Dunmore — 6-0, 195 senior

Keith Batkowski, Montoursville — 5-8, 160 senior

Hunter Thomas, Southern Columbia — 5-10, 185 junior

Chuck Carr, Hickory — 5-8, 190 junior

Wide Receiver

Jassir Jordan, Aliquippa — 5-10, 165 senior

Zach Fry, Hughesville — 5-11, 175 senior

Ziyon Strickland, Sharon — 5-10, 170 sophomore

Offensive Linemen

Connor McGovern, Lake-Lehman — 6-5, 310 senior

Trevor Miller, Martinsburg Central — 6-1, 225 junior

Josh Yoder, Southern Columbia — 6-2, 250 senior

Dan Harrison, Loyalsock Twp. — 6-3, 318 senior

Anthony Nardone, Hickory — 6-1, 275 senior


Isaac Lutz, Berks Catholic — 5-11, 187 senior

Garrett Owens, North East — 6-3, 200 senior

Chantz Swartz, Juniata — 6-1, 195 senior


Ethan Lazorka, Montoursville — 5-8, 150 junior


Defensive Linemen

Donovan Jeter, Beaver Falls — 6-5, 268 junior

Ben Cerney, Montoursville — 5-11, 240 senior

Karamo Dioubate, Prep Charter — 6-4, 275 senior

Tymir Oliver, West Catholic — 6-3, 265 senior


Darnell Gardner, Aliquippa — 5-11, 215 senior

Christian Martir, Wyomissing — 5-11, 182 senior

Matt Bell, Southern Columbia — 6-1, 190 senior

Elijah Parrish, Ligonier Valley — 5-9, 206 junior

Major Jordan, North Schuylkill — 6-1, 212 junior

Logan Thimons, Freeport — 6-2, 220 senior

Amir Postley, West Catholic — 6-2, 210 senior

Defensive Back

Cameron Young, Southern Columbia — 5-7, 135 junior

Sheldon Jeter, Aliquippa — 5-9, 165 senior

Andrew Pryts, Hickory — 6-3, 200 senior

Craig Jones, West Catholic — 6-0, 193 senior


Derek Boben, Moniteau — 6-0, 200 senior

Mason Donaldson, Salisbury — 6-3, 200 senior

Collin Smith, Ligonier Valley — 6-0, 194 junior

Player of the Year — Kaezon Pugh, Aliquippa

Coach of the Year — Jim Roth, Southern Columbia

(Copyright 2015 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

WKBN 27 First News provides commenting to allow for constructive discussion on the stories we cover. In order to comment here, you acknowledge you have read and agreed to our Terms of Service. Commenters who violate these terms, including use of vulgar language or racial slurs, will be banned. No links will be permitted. Please be respectful of the opinions of others. If you see an inappropriate comment, please flag it for our moderators to review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s