TaxSlayer Bowl Prepper

TaxSlayer Bowl History (formerly known as the Gator Bowl)
Saturday, January 2, 2016 at Jacksonville, FL
Penn State (7-5) vs. Georgia (9-3)

TV Broadcast Crew: Allen Bestwick, Dan Hawkins, Tiffany Greene (ESPN)
Radio Broadcast Crew: Eamon McAnaney, John Congemi, Ian Fitzsimmons (ESPN Radio)

Penn State Trends
…The Nittany Lions defeated Boston College last year in the Pinstripe Bowl 31-30 in overtime. That win, snapped a two Bowl game losing streak. The last time Penn State had won two bowl games in a row was in 2006-07 (2005-07).

Georgia Trends
…The Bulldogs had posted an 11-3 bowl mark from 1991 to 2009. Since then, Georgia has lost three of five post-season appearances.

Last TaxSlayer Bowls (Gator Bowls)
Jan. 2, 2015 – Tennessee 45 Iowa 28
Jan. 1, 2014 – Nebraska 24 Georgia 19
Jan. 1, 2013 – Northwestern 34 Mississippi State 20
Jan. 2, 2012 – Florida 24 Ohio State 17
Jan. 1, 2011 – Mississippi State 52 Michigan 14

TaxSlayer Bowl Trends
…The Big Ten has seen two wins in their last three trips to Jacksonville.

Penn State’s History in TaxSlayer Bowl
1976: lost to Notre Dame, 20-9
1967: tied Florida State, 17-17
1962: lost to Florida, 17-7
1961: def. Georgia Tech, 30-15

Georgia’s History in TaxSlayer Bowl
2013: lost to Nebraska, 24-19
1988: def. Michigan State, 34-27
1971: def. North Carolina, 7-3
1947: tied Maryland, 20-20

Most Appearances in TaxSlayer Bowl thru 2016
Florida – 9
Clemson – 9
Florida State – 7
North Carolina – 7
Georgia Tech – 7
West Virginia – 7
Auburn – 6
Tennessee – 6

TaxSlayer Bowl Records
Most Rushing Yards: Floyd Little (Syracuse, 1966) – 216
Most Passing Yards: Graham Harrell (Texas Tech, 2008) – 407
Most Passing Touchdowns: Steve Tensi (Florida State, 1965) – 5
Most Receptions: Ron Sellers (Florida State, 1967) – 14
Most Receiving Yards: Andre Rison (Michigan State, 1989) – 252
Most Receiving Touchdowns: Fred Biletnikoff (Florida State, 1965) – 4

Notable MVPs of the TaxSlayer Bowl (Gator Bowl) since 1980
2007: Calvin Johnson, WR/Georgia Tech
2003: Philip Rivers, QB/NC State
2001: Michael Vick, QB/Virginia Tech
1996: Donovan McNabb, QB/Syracuse
1989: Andre Rison, WR/Michigan State
1985: Thurmon Thomas, RB/Oklahoma State
1984: Thurmon Thomas, RB/Oklahoma State
1980: George Foster, RB/South Carolina

WKBN 27 First News provides commenting to allow for constructive discussion on the stories we cover. In order to comment here, you acknowledge you have read and agreed to our Terms of Service. Commenters who violate these terms, including use of vulgar language or racial slurs, will be banned. No links will be permitted. Please be respectful of the opinions of others. If you see an inappropriate comment, please flag it for our moderators to review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s