Howland’s Price named First Team All-State

Price averaged 21 points per game for the Tigers this season

The Howland Girls topped Salem 51-37 in the Division II Sectional Finals Thursday night.

COLUMBUS, Ohio (AP) – The 2016-17 Associated Press Division II All-Ohio girls basketball team, based on the recommendations of a media panel (with school, height, class and scoring average):


First Team: Morgan Lott, Caledonia River Valley, 5-foot-3, senior, 16.5 points per game; Destiny Hutcheson, Duncan Falls Philo, 5-7, jr., 24.4; Jimi Howell, Norton, 5-10, sr., 16.2; Sara Price, Warren Howland, 6-0, sr., 21.0; McKenah Peters, LaGrange Keystone, sr., 5-9, 25.3; Jiselle Thomas, Norwalk, 5-9, sr., 24.1; Osh Brown, Chillicothe, 5-11, sr., 13.3; Libby Bazelak, Kettering Archbishop Alter, 5-9, sr., 15.5; Braxtin Miller, Kettering Archbishop Alter, 5-10, sr., 16.1; Kadie Hempfling, Ottawa-Glandorf, 5-9, jr., 13.1

Player of the year: Jiselle Thomas, Norwalk

Co-Coaches of the year: Ben Ackley, Washington Court House Miami Trace; Andy Holderman, Tipp City Tippecanoe; Brindi Kandel, Perry.

Second Team: Dani Lawson, Shaker Heights Hathaway Brown, sr., 6-2, 11.4; Zia Cooke, Toledo Rogers, 5-9, so., 22.3; Tanner Bryant, Washington Court House Miami Trace, 5-11, jr. 14.8; Jamari McDavid, Springfield Kenton Ridge, 5-10, sr., 26.6; Danielle Norquest, Ravenna Southeast, 5-10, sr., 15.4; Alex Cade, Shaker Heights Laurel School, sr., 6-1, 17.0; Erica Johnson, Mansfield Senior, 6-0, sr., 20.3; Lilly Ritz, Cambridge, 6-2, jr. 15.1; Rebekah Justice, Cincinnati Mariemont, 6-5, sr., 13.0; Nikki Current, Bellefontaine Benjamin Logan, 5-6, jr., 21.1.

Third Team: Felicia Atkinson, Granville, 5-6, sr., 15.3; Haley Porter, Belmont Union Local, 5-6, jr., 20.4; Dakota Naples, Niles McKinley, 5-7, sr., 24.0; Claire Dolan, Perry, jr., 5-6, 13.5; Kennadie Goth, Shelby, 5-7, sr., 16.3; Heidi Marshall, Clyde, 5-4, jr., 15.8; Rebekah Green, Jackson, 5-7, jr., 23.0; Victoria Fliehman, Washington Court House Miami Trace, 6-0, jr., 13.0; Bella Gajdos, Poland, 5-3, jr., 15.6; Jackie Carman, Shaker Heights Hathaway Brown, jr. 5-8, 14.2.

Special Mention: Mchale Grant, Columbus Eastmoor Academy; Emily Minner, London; Courtney Vierstra, Hebron Lakewood; Aaliyah Currence, New Philadelphia; Rhiannon Petrisko, Steubenville; Emily Holzapfel, Rayland Buckeye; Kendal Kirkbride, Zanesville Maysville; Natalie Zuchowski, Beloit West Branch; Emma Tecca, Akron Hoban; Robin Campbell, Alliance Marlington; Annie Pavlansky, Cortland Lakeview; Elena Rauhe, Parma Padua Franciscan; Jocie Fisher, Chillicothe Unioto; Jordin Blakeman, Circleville; Kendyl Mick, Thornville Sheridan; Katie Rauch, Vincent Warren; Laken Smith, Waverly.

Honorable Mention: Sammy Edwards, Johnstown-Monroe; Kandice Farley-Marbury, Columbus Beechcroft; Talia Shaw, Columbus South; Alexis Stevens, Caledonia River Valley; Kennedy Taylor, Columbus Hartley;
Madison Hunter, New Concord John Glenn; Mikayla Poole, Carrollton; Mackenzie Huff, Warsaw River View; Marlo Taylor, Cambridge; Bri Gassman, Minerva; Zoey Wisintainer, Dover; Sammie Hall, Millersburg West Holmes; Danin Greuey, McConnelsville Morgan; Ava Illig, Lodi Cloverleaf; Sydney Kulla, Mantua Crestwood; Lauren Calhoun, Ravenna; Chloe Cheresne, Salem; Khaylah Brown, Struthers; Amanda Blank, Niles McKinley; Bryana Housley, Norton; Brenna Rito, Beloit West Branch; Venecia Billings, Lorain Clearview; Nora Hopkins, Elyria Catholic; Maddie Edgerly, Bay Village Bay; Hanna Harlo, Shaker Heights Hathaway Brown; Jordan Schiano, Perry; Hailey Peoples, Geneva; Kendal Glandorff, Bowling Green; Shania Taylor, St. Marys Memorial; Kylie White, Ottawa-Glandorf; Abigail Fogle, Upper Sandusky; Casey Santoro, Bellevue; Logan Harris, Oak Harbor; Emily Yeager, Ontario; Shawnee Smith, Chillicothe; Hannah Haithcock, Washington Court House Washington; Kassidy Betzing, Pomeroy Meigs; Jayden Geary, Thornville Sheridan; Molly McCutcheon, Vincent Warren; Taylor Polley, Greenfield McClain; Amanda Schroeder, Dayton Carroll; Hunter Rogan, Urbana; Mikala Morris, Springfield Kenton Ridge; Ellie Schaub, Cincinnati Indian Hill; Mya Jackson, Wilmington.


WKBN 27 First News provides commenting to allow for constructive discussion on the stories we cover. In order to comment here, you acknowledge you have read and agreed to our Terms of Service. Commenters who violate these terms, including use of vulgar language or racial slurs, will be banned. No links will be permitted. Please be respectful of the opinions of others. If you see an inappropriate comment, please flag it for our moderators to review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s