JFK’s Bofenkamp named All-Ohio First Team

Bofenkamp averaged 17 points per game for the Eagles this season.

Senior Justin Bofenkamp scored 20 points in a 59-50 win over Valley Christian Friday.

COLUMBUS, Ohio (AP) – The 2016-17 Associated Press Division IV All-Ohio boys basketball team, based on the recommendations of a media panel (with school, height, class and scoring average:


First Team: Matt Bailey, Grove City Christian, 5-foot-10, senior, 18.7 points per game; Aaron Gehlken, Zanesville Rosecrans, 6-1, sr., 17.7; Justin Bofenkamp, Warren John F. Kennedy, 6-0, sr., 17.0; Michael Bothwell, Willoughby Cornerstone Christian Academy, 6-3, jr., 20.9; Jared Jakubick, Mansfield St. Peter’s, 6-3, jr., 18.3; Jordan Welch, Waterford, 6-3, sr., 14.2; Nathan Lessing, Sidney Fairlawn, 6-1, sr., 28.1; Jakoby Lane-Harvey, Lima Perry, 6-0, sr., 16.0; Tim Kreeger, Delphos St. John’s, 6-6, sr., 18.7; Cameron King, Portsmouth Clay, 5-10, sr., 18.1.

Second Team: Dustin Harder, Columbus Wellington, 6-9, sr., 13.0; Shaylin Waugh, Canal Winchester Harvest Prep, 5-10, sr., 16.8; Brett Bower, Bowerston Conotton Valley, 6-1, sr., 29.2; Justin Miller, Wellsville, 6-4, sr., 21.4; Maurico Tate, Cleveland Heights Lutheran East, 6-0, sr., 17.0; Jordan Burge, Cleveland Heights Lutheran East, , 6-3, jr.,18.0; Quinn Smith, West Unity Hilltop, 6-0, sr., 16.5; Gavin Richards, New Madison Tri-Village, 6-2, sr., 20.5; Brady Wildermuth, Jackson Center, 6-6, sr., 21.3; Camron Gordley, Peebles, 6-4, sr., 21.0.

Third Team: Devin Pearl, Cardington-Lincoln, 6-4, sr., 18.0; Brandon McQueen, Willoughby Cornerstone Christian Academy, 6-2, sr., 17.0; Jarad Dunn, Mogadore, 6-3, sr., 14.6; Drew Johnson, Pandora-Gilboa, 6-5, jr., 19.3; Akia Brown, Sciotoville Community East, 6-1, sr., 23.2; Dylan Woods, Cincinnati Christian, 6-1, sr., 14.5; Brandon Baker, Grove City Christian, 6-2, sr., 18.0; Shevin Javersak, Strasburg-Franklin, 6-2, sr., 16.5; John Paul Miller, Lake Center Christian, 5-8, sr., 22.9; Mark Mayle, Malvern, 6-8, jr., 15.1.

Player of the year: Jared Jakubick, Mansfield St. Peter’s

Co-Coach of the year: Adam Betten, Portsmouth Clay; Matt Tabler, Lima Perry

Special Mention: Ty West, Toronto; Jaret Majestic, Malvern; Chase Wade, Shadyside; C.J. McCall, Old Washington Buckeye Trail; Tommy Donadio, Bristol; Mitch Clark, Dalton; Noah Laster, North Jackson Jackson-Milton; Zach Rasile, McDonald; Trey Brooks, Elyria Open Door Christian School; Brett Lowther, Cleveland Cuyahoga Heights; Brandon McCall, Norwalk St. Paul; Dauson Dales, Defiance Ayersville; Hootie Cleveland, Old Fort; Tyler Slack, Glouster Trimble; Ethan Leist, Beaver Eastern; Tanner Perdue, Latham Western; Jett Facemeyer, Reedsville Eastern; Deijon Bedgood, Belpre; Elijah Allen, Cincinnati James Gamble Montessori.

Honorable Mention: Trey Baumgardner, Columbus Africentric; Skyler Durbin, Danville; Landon Martin, Columbus Africentric; Isaac Naayers, Lancaster Fairfield Christian; Claudio Penha, Canal Winchester Harvest Prep;
Guy Pagano, Bridgeport; Cameron Opic, Bellaire St. John Central; Dean Green, New Philadelphia Tuscarawas Central Catholic; Wyatt Smitley, New Matamoras Frontier; Troy Pontius, Old Washington Buckeye Trail; Michael Fisher, Zanesville Rosecrans; Nathan Karaffa, Toronto; Evan Hershberger, Dalton; Ben Rogers, Jeromesville Hillsdale; Romaine Lawton, Canton Heritage Christian; Christian Manna, Sagamore Hills Lawrence; Kole Jaber, Mogadore; Justin Sweeney, Lisbon; Zach Dawson, Maplewood; Antonio McQueen, Warren John F. Kennedy; Kade Hilles, Berlin Center Western Reserve; Bryan Gabrielson, Bristolville Bristol; Tony Massucci, Ashtabula St. John; Tre Williams, Willoughby Cornerstone Christian; Cole Bramhall, North Ridgeville Lake Ridge Academy; T.J. Chapman, Andrew Osborne Academy; Tyler Powell, Cleveland Heights Lutheran East; Savon Lynch, Eaton Township Christian; Grant Schroeder, Leipsic; Joe Ochoa, Toledo Christian; Wade Stauffer, Continental; Jake Grim, Holgate; Mikey McGuire, Defiance Ayersville; Mason Campbell, Mansfield St. Peter’s; Tyson Kent, Mansfield St. Peter’s; Javin Etzler, Convoy Crestview; Randy Hixson, Glouster Trimble; Seattle Compston, Corning Miller; Chase Walters, Ironton St. Joseph; Kade Conley, New Boston Glenwood; Tanner Arey, Peebles; Jesse Current, Leesburg Fairfield; Kaulen Cox, Manchester; Shane Zimmerman, South Webster; Trevon Turner, Portsmouth Notre Dame; Tanner Kimbler, Franklin Furnace Green; Cole Gilliland, Portsmouth Clay; Crenson Rogers, Racine Southern; Isaac Huffman, Waterford; Dominic Ruwe, Felicity Felicity-Franklin; Andrew Lyons, South Charleston Southeastern Local; Luke Bergman, Botkins; Dillon Braun, Fort Loramie; Trace Couch, New Madison Tri-Village.


WKBN 27 First News provides commenting to allow for constructive discussion on the stories we cover. In order to comment here, you acknowledge you have read and agreed to our Terms of Service. Commenters who violate these terms, including use of vulgar language or racial slurs, will be banned. No links will be permitted. Please be respectful of the opinions of others. If you see an inappropriate comment, please flag it for our moderators to review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s