LaBrae’s Drake named Division III All-Ohio Third Team

Drake was joined on the Division III All-Ohio Third Team by Springfield's Jake Ford and Champion's Lucas Nasonti

The Vikings used a strong 2nd half to rout Newton Falls, 72-38 Friday.

COLUMBUS, Ohio (AP) – The 2016-17 Associated Press Division III All-Ohio boys basketball team, based on the recommendations of a media panel (with school, height, class and scoring average):


First Team: Jay Joseph, Worthington Christian, 6-foot-4, senior, 16.1 points per game; Lukas Isaly, Hannibal River, 6-1, jr., 22.0; Derek Koch, West Salem Northwestern, 6-9, sr., 21.7; Jerry Higgins, Cleveland Villa Angela-St. Joseph, 5-9, jr., 16.3; Ethan Linder, Haviland Wayne Trace, 6-3, sr., 29.0; Isaiah Howell, Proctorville Fairland, 6-2, jr., 15.2; Dylan Swingle, Bainbridge Paint Valley, 6-11, jr., 21.3; Justin Ahrens, Versailles, 6-6, jr., 23.4; Anthony Masterlasco, Findlay Liberty-Benton, 6-4, sr., 25.1; Logan Newman, Louisville St. Thomas Aquinas, 6-0, sr., 16.7.

Second Team:
Justin Anderson, Beverly Fort Frye, 6-2, sr., 23.3; Chase Yoho, Bellaire, 5-10, jr., 31.2; Tommy Bissler, Garrettsville Garfield, 6-1, sr., 17.1; Alonzo Gaffney, Cleveland Villa Angela-St. Joseph, 6-8, so., 12.7; Dakota Prichard, Spencerville, 6-4, sr., 18.9; Gunner Oakes, Swanton, 6-4, sr., 20.4; Ryan Lane, New London, 6-3, sr., 16.2; Caleb South, Tipp City Bethel, 6-1, jr., 24.6; Craig McGee, St. Bernard Roger Bacon, 6-0, sr., 12.9; Sam Martin, Cincinnati Summit Country Day, 5-10, sr., 16.0.

Third Team:
Ronnie Rayburn, Richwood North Union, 6-5, sr., 19.9; Ty Hamsher, Garaway, 6-0, sr., 19.0; Tariq Drake, LaBrae, 6-2, sr., 14.0; Jake Ford, Springfield, 6-1, sr., 25.2; Dorian Crutcher, Elyria Catholic, 6-3, jr., 19.5; Donald Johnson, Oberlin, 6-4, sr., 18.0; Jacob Plantz, Genoa Area, 6-3, so., 18.1; Eric McLaughlin, Lynchburg-Clay, 6-5, jr., 20.4; Lorenzo Sparks, Cincinnati North College Hill, 6-0, jr., 20.0; Lucas Nasonti, Champion, 5-10, sr., 23.0.

Co-Players of the year: Justin Ahrens, Versailles; Ethan Linder, Haviland Wayne Trace

Co-Coaches of the year: Zach Ruth, Galion Northmor; Travis Swank, Versailles; Derek Edwards, Martins Ferry

Special Mention:
Breon Backus, Grandview Heights; Ross Ryan, Centerburg; Brady Thomas, Columbus Ready; Andrew Mason, Coshocton; Zac Selby, Martins Ferry; Turner Horn, Berlin Hiland; Kameron Shockley, Waterloo; Dan Ritter, South Range; Jayson Woodrich, Beachwood; Ronald Vann, Cleveland Martin Luther King Jr.; Bryce Williams, Archbold; Luke Thomas, Proctorville Fairland; Tanner Holden, Wheelersburg; Landon Carroll, Oak Hill.

Honorable Mention:
Ryan Alexander, Columbus Academy; Brian Collier, Grandview Heights; Joe Craycraft, Marion Pleasant; Brandon Estep, Johnstown Northridge; Jayden Turner, Worthington Christian; Chad Neisel, Magnolia Sandy Valley; Brenton Franks, Zoarville Tuscarawas Valley; Tyler Reddish, Cadiz Harrison Central; Keith Leindecker, West Lafayette Ridgewood; Ty Kildow, Belmont Union Local; Drew McKenzie, Zanesville West Muskingum; Luke Powell, Barnesville; Darius Ray, Martins Ferry; JoJo France, Manchester; Gabe Walker, Wooster Triway; Kaleb Bauman, Rittman; Daniel Zuchak, Rittman; Anthony Ritter, South Range; Brandon Youngs South Range; Aaron Iler, Leavittsburg LaBrae; Brian Hiner, Brookfield; Jacob Reed, Smithville; C.J. Charleston, Gates Mills Gilmour Academy; Declan Kirincic, Gates Mills Gilmour Academy; Danny McGarry, Cleveland Villa Angela-St. Joseph; Jude Cunningham, Orwell Grand Valley; Emil Hess, Burton Berkshire; Joseph Vallery, Warrensville Heights; Bryce Ostheimer, Milan Edison; Tayte Lentz, Bloomdale Elmwood; Braxton Fasone, Van Buren; Hunter Sieben, Toledo Ottawa Hills; Kolden Uribes, Montpelier; Tyler Mescher, Maria Stein Marion Local; Jace Stockwell, Delphos Jefferson; Chace Harris, Albany Alexander; Jacob Dovenbarger, Bidwell River Valley; Gunner Short, Proctorville Fairland; Ethan Wilson, Ironton; Mason Darby, Ironton Rock Hill; Tayshaun Fox, South Point; Trey Postage, Frankfort Adena; Casey Moore, Piketon; Joe Giordano, Lynchburg-Clay; Kaden Coleman, Wheelersburg; Kendal Reynolds, Portsmouth; Matthew Gullett, Minford; Mitchell Hale, Oak Hill; Dalton Stewart, Brookville; Justin Flor, Carlisle; Alex Dahling, Cincinnati Summit Country Day; Trenton Weeks, Bethel Bethel-Tate; Tony Boddie, Dayton Stivers School for the Arts.


WKBN 27 First News provides commenting to allow for constructive discussion on the stories we cover. In order to comment here, you acknowledge you have read and agreed to our Terms of Service. Commenters who violate these terms, including use of vulgar language or racial slurs, will be banned. No links will be permitted. Please be respectful of the opinions of others. If you see an inappropriate comment, please flag it for our moderators to review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s